NFL 2014 Hall of Fame Class

Alex Hoysradt, Staff Writer

The National Football League has announced their 2014 Hall of Fame class. Seven men will now be enshrined in Canton, Ohio for the rest of time.

Derrick Brooks, LB:
2014 was Brooks’ first year on the ballot and  he deservedly got in on his inaugural attempt. Throughout his 14 seasons, Brooks was the heart of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers defense, winning a Super Bowl in 2002. For his career he posted 1,715 tackles (franchise record), 25 interceptions and 13.5 sacks. Even more impressive is that, despite playing a physical position, Brooks never missed a game in his career (224 consecutive games). Brooks’ bust will fit nicely in Canton.

Michael Strahan, DE:
Like Brooks, Strahan was virtually a lock for the Hall of Fame this year. Strahan played his entire 15-year career for the New York Giants, becoming a team leader and fan favorite. He holds the NFL single season sack record with 22.5 (in 2001) and tallied 141.5 in his career. He closed out his career with 429 tackles and 14 forced fumbles. Despite missing a good chunk of games in his final seasons, due to various injuries. Strahan was a dominant member of the defensive line. His career wrapped up in 2007 with a Super Bowl win.

Aeneas Williams, CB/S:
Williams was a nuisance for opposing offenses throughout his career with the Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals and St. Louis Rams. He was a playmaker, first as cornerback, then as a safety. In his 13-year career, Williams had 55 interceptions, 692 tackles and 20 fumble recoveries. With the ball in his hands, Williams was as savvy as they come, reaching the end zone 13 times, ranking fifth all time in non-offensive touchdowns. Despite being on a lot of losing teams with the Cardinals, Williams came to St. Louis and enjoyed four winning seasons and a Super Bowl appearance.

Andre Reed, WR:
Reed spent 14 of his 15 seasons with the Buffalo Bills, resulting in four straight Super Bowl appearances from 1990-1993 in which he played a pivotal role. He ranks second all-time in Super Bowl receptions with 27. This was Reed’s eighth year on the ballot, but he finally received enough votes to go to Canton. Reed was one of the best at turning short routes into dazzling long touchdowns. For his career, he tallied 951 receptions for 13,198 yards and 87 touchdowns.

Ray Guy P:
The wait is over ladies and gentlemen, a punter has finally been elected to the Hall of Fame. Ray Guy is arguably the best to ever play his position and is the only punter to be drafted in the first round. He played all of his 14 seasons with the Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, and won three Super Bowls with the team in 1976, 1980 and 1983. Guy’s accomplishments also led to an award being named after him that is given to the best punter in college football. Guy has waited a long time, but he now will finally receive immortality in Canton.

Claude Humphrey DE:
Humphrey played for both the Atlanta Falcons and Philadelphia Eagles. He was a dominant defensive end in the 1970s and earned 122 sacks, although sacks weren’t an official stat until after he retired. Humphrey was a part of the Eagles Super Bowl team in 1980 (lost to Oakland).Although he retired in 1981, Humphrey hasn’t reached the promised land until now, 33 years later.

Walter Jones OT:
Walter Jones spent his entire 13-year career with the Seattle Seahawks, starting all 180 games. Jones was the first offensive lineman in Seahawk history to be named to the Pro Bowl, and was named to the All-Decade team of the 2000s. Jones was an easy choice for the Hall on his first time on the ballot


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.